# FIREFIGHTER FIRE OFFICER OF THE YEAR OF THE YEAR

Firefighter Scott Johnson (Ladder 18/B shift)

Captain Philip Mueller (Ladder 1/B shift)

# Award Descriptions

#### LETTER OF COMMENDATION

To be awarded to an individual, whether or not he/she is a member of the Austin Fire Department, at the discretion of the Awards Committee or the Fire Chief when conditions warrant recognition.

#### **CERTIFICATE OF COMMENDATION**

Awarded to a member for outstanding acts/services on or off duty.

#### **UNIT CITATION**

Awarded to a unit whose service was an unequaled personal effort in overcoming difficulties or obstacles in the completion of a difficult task, and has resulted in the protection of life or property OR for performance beyond the normal scope of duty.

#### **MERITORIOUS SERVICE**

Awarded to any member who, while not in a life-threatening situation, is in direct support of operations where a member(s) is awarded a Medal of Merit, Valor, or Honor.

#### **MEDAL OF MERIT**

Awarded to any member who saves the life, or attempts to save the life, of a human being by an act of rescue. This act must be of a conspicuous nature.

#### **MEDAL OF VALOR**

Awarded to any member who has performed a courageous act under conditions of extreme danger and at great risk of bodily injury. The act must clearly exceed what is required, and results in the protection of life in a manner considered exceptionally valiant.

**FOLLOW US!** 

f AustinFireDepartment 🛛 🌶 @AustinFireDept

@ @austinfiredept





# ANNUAL AWARDS AND RECOGNITION CEREMONY

HONORING THOSE WHO DEMONSTRATE HOW "OUR MISSION GOES BEYOND OUR NAME"



Fríday, January 27, 2023 7:30 a.m. Permítting and Development Center 6310 Wilhelmína Delco Dr., Room 1405

Breakfast provided courtesy of H-E-B

#### WELCOME

Fire Chief Joel G. Baker

#### **KEYNOTE SPEAKER** Local Radio Legend Ed Clements

#### **PRESENTATION OF AWARDS**

Fire Chief Joel G. Baker Division Chief Thayer Smith

# **AWARD RECIPIENTS**

#### JANUARY 7, 2022 Unit Citation

#### Ladder 8/A shift

Capt. Raymond Leschber FS Jason Paez FF Jacob Baíley FF Heath Yanko

#### Rescue 14/A shift

Capt. James Rae FS Nathan Hager FF Nick Deno FF Jordan Johnson

#### Rescue 28/A shift

Capt. Tim Vandermeer FS Ryan Arencibia FF Martin Rodriguez FF Matthew Zwolinski

### Engine 14/A shift

Lt. Tyson Poindexter FS Michael Heeney FF Bryan Flanigan FF Nicholas Schroeder

#### Engine 23/A shift Lt. Kelly Knobloch FS Matt McLellan

FS Matt McLellan FF Garrett Parcell FF John Trujillo

#### **Certificate of Commendation**

*FF Derick Zwerneman* (*Dispatch*)

#### Meritorious Service BC Shannon Edwards (Battalion 3/A shift)

#### <u>Medal of Merit</u>

Lt. Tyson Poindexter (Engine 14/A shift) FF Jacob Bailey (Ladder 8/A shift)

FS Jason Paez (Ladder 8/A shift) FF Nĩck Deno (Rescue 14/A shift)

# JANUARY 23, 2022

#### **Unit Citation**

## Engine 1/B shift

Lt. Cyrus Merritt FS Michael Killian FF Eddie Barron FF Oel Leon

#### <u>Meritorious Service</u> Lt. Cyrus Merrítt FS Michael Kíllian FF Oel Leon

<u>Medal of Valor</u>

FF Eddie Barron

#### MAY 25, 2022

#### **Unit Citation**

#### <u>Medal of Merit</u>

Quint 34/A shift Capt. Christian Ward FF Logan Nicks FF Steven Slaughter FF Elliott Sorrells FF Steven Slaughter

# JULY 30, 2022

**Unit Citation** 

#### Engine 1/A shift

Lt. Antwaine Hobbs FS Jimmie Clark FF Oel Leon FF Carson Neal Ladder 1/A shift

Capt. David Spidle FF Adam Aguirre FF Erik Coronado FF Daniel Hendrix

#### Engine 4/A shift

FS Aaron Hooser FF Joseph Barschow FF Daniel Perez FF Garret Pollok

#### **Letters of Commendation**

ATCEMS Medic 6: Clinical Specialist Emily Swanner Medic Saul Cuevas



